• Phone: 592-227-8111
  • 24-Hour Safety Hotline: 592-608-4222
Who we are

Guyana Civil Aviation Authority

In March of 2002, the Government of Guyana established the Guyana Civil Aviation Authority (GCAA). This was made possible with the passage of the Civil Aviation Act (2000) in parliament of the same year. Formerly known as the Civil Aviation Department within the former Ministry of Public Works and Communications, now the Ministry of Works, the GCAA is responsible for managing and regulating the aviation sector in Guyana, ensuring their compliance with international standards.

The Minister of Works is responsible for the development of civil aviation in Guyana and has direct oversight of the GCAA. The Authority regulates and manages the aviation sector in accordance with the Civil Aviation Act (2018), and the Civil Aviation (Air Navigation) Regulations 2001, Air Transport (Licensing of Air Transport Services) Regulations 2001, The Civil Aviation (Security) Regulation 2004 and Civil Aviation (Air Traffic Services and Rules of the Air) Regulations 2006 made under the act.


Towards a Civil Aviation Authority that is compliant with international standards to enable safe, secure, and sustainable air transport for the socio-economic benefit to all.

Core Values

  • Accountability
  • Confidentiality
  • Transparency
  • Respect for Diversity
  • Integrity
  • Good Governnance
  • Harmonised & Consultative
  • Team Spirit

Ministers and Permanent Secretary

Bishop Juan Edghill

Hon. Bishop Juan Edghill

Minister of Public Works
Deodat Indar

Hon. Deodat Indar

Minister within the Ministry of Public Works
Vladim Persaud

Mr. Vladim Persaud

Permanent Secretary

Board of Directors

Javed Shadick

Mr. Javed Shadick

Ramesh Ghir

Ramesh Ghir

Prema Roopnarine

Ms. Prema Roopnarine

Ramesh Seebarran

Ramesh Seebarran

Courtney Byrne

Lt. Col. Courtney Byrne

Beulah Williams

Beulah Williams

Fazad Khan

Fazad Khan

Jerome Khan

Jerome Khan


Management Team

GCAA is organized into directorates to carry out its mandate. Meet our directors:

Lt. Col. Egbert Field A A Saheed Sulaman Rickford Samaroo Chaitrani Heeralall Abraham Dorris

19 Years of Achievement

We're celebrating 19 years as an independent aviation regulatory authority in Guyana.